Last Day Before Duke

Not much to say, but I feel compelled to write anyhow.  Tomorrow we go to Duke.  E will be admitted and will have the pre-operative stuff and a CT scan done.  He is scheduled for surgery at 7 am Thursday.  We spent the morning running errands and tidying up the house a bit.  Then we had a visit from friends and then we traveled to my parents’ home for dinner and a visit.

E has been in great spirits throughout most of the day.  The visit from friends was appreciated and helpful.   At my parents, he got to choose the dinner menu.  He had a smorgasbord of his favorite Chinese takeout foods that we all sampled.  He even took a picture of the food and us at the table which was a bit unusual of him.  We shared lots of laughter and jokes.  We then had to say goodbye to D who will be staying with my parents and headed home.  I let E listen to his favorite music on the drive home.  He finds it utterly hilarious that he has created a Spotify playlist titled, “Songs Mom Will Hate” and is filled with rap songs containing curse words, and the typical sex-drugs-rocknroll theme.  But I allowed him to play them on the way home since D was not in the car.  He bopped all the way down the road and I had to giggle at him.

I also made a point to tell him how proud I am of him.  It’s easy to nag and discipline or point out the shortcomings of your kid.   However, it’s super important to me that E hears me tell him all the ways I think he’s getting it right, also.  And I sure am confident he’s handling all of this surgery business like a champ.  As I shared with him, there are many adults who deal with far less serious things in far worse ways.  He has demonstrated joy, peace, and healthy self-care most days since April when the doctors explained he would have this valve-sparing aortic root replacement.

I will have a computer with me while E is in the hospital so I can update all of you, our friends and family.  Thank you for your continued support, encouragement, well wishes, and prayers.  I look forward to sharing with you that it’s all behind us and he is on the mend.

3 thoughts on “Last Day Before Duke

Add yours

  1. This just brings me to tears. You both are so courageous. Love to your family. I’ll be thinking of both of you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

