Proverbs 1-16 On Being a Wise Soul

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom….” Proverbs 9:10

As I progress on this spiritual journey, I realize my desires have changed.  There was a time when I wanted my problems to be fixed, my family to be well, my bank account to cause me less anxiety, etc., etc.  But now I realize wisdom is what I desire.

The more I learn and grow, the more I realize how much I don’t know.  The more I realize how much I am ill equipped to handle life’s situations.  Wisdom helps me to know what I don’t know.  Wisdom helps me to see God in my life, my world, my situations so I can handle them instead of letting them handle me.  Wisdom helps me to see others the way God sees them.  Wisdom helps me be more like and closer to God.  And really, that’s what I want.

That’s why I’ve chosen to head to Proverbs.  I can’t think of any other book that is more direct in trying to impart wisdom.  Much of the proverbs in this book revolve around some common themes.  If I could sum up the bulk of these first chapters of Proverbs it would be this:  don’t be lazy, be careful who you surround yourself with, accept constructive criticism, and think before you speak.

Seems simple enough.

The part that makes becoming wise so hard is you don’t know what you don’t know.  So I could read these words telling me to think before I speak and it would be so easy for me to think, “Yeah, I do that already.  I’m good.  I wish so-and-so would read that.”  However, I might never realize areas or times when I have shot off my mouth hurting myself and everyone around me.  If we are not willing to take an honest look at our own failings, we will never be able to change.  We will remain foolish.   As Proverbs 12:15 says, “The way of fools seems right to them, but the wise listen to advice.”

Let us all pray that God will open our eyes and hearts to our own shortcomings rather than allowing us to equip ourselves with blinders.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

