Who You Calling Chicken?

If you’ve followed my blog for any length of time, you know my oldest son has some medical challenges (which he handles magnificently, might I add!).  One of these issues is significant food allergies.  We are in the process of working with his doctors at Johns Hopkins and the NIH to help build a tolerance to milk.  We began with giving him foods that had milk baked into it.  After a number of months, we progress to a new stage.  As long as he does well, we continue to progress so that eventually he will be able to ingest milk in any form without a reaction.

Today we took another step by providing him with a dish that has milk as an ingredient that has not been completely baked through — chicken pot pie.  I cannot begin to express how very excited I am about this.  I love chicken pot pie.  It is the ultimate comfort food.  And then moving E to a new stage and closer to the goal of having no reason to fear milk…..yay!!!

I took a can of cream of potato soup and a can of cream of chicken soup and placed in a casserole dish.  I then added a cup of soymilk (the milk in the soups were enough to get us started) and some salt and pepper.  I then added a dash of Old Bay seasoning ….. well, because…..I put Old Bay seasoning on darn near everything.  That stuff’s good.  It’s my culinary homage to all the good that Baltimore and Johns Hopkins does for our family.

Anyway…..I whisked together in the casserole dish.  All the while I was cooking my frozen peas and carrots and corn on the stove top.  Once it was finished, I strained it and added to my soup mixture along with about two cups of chicken more or less.  (Time to come clean……canned chicken is nasty.  However, you can totally fool your family and throw it in this dish since there’s so much other goodness.  Vegetarian?  You can throw in pseudo-chicken and I doubt anyone would know.  Of course, if you want to be a freaking overachiever and show me up…..feel free to boil that bad bird, skin it, chop it up, and throw it in…..but I ain’t got time for that.)  Stir everything up in your casserole dish and put it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes.  While that’s in the oven, take canned biscuits (I know…..canned chicken, canned biscuits…..as a Southern woman, I should hang my head in shame) and quarter them.

At the end of that 15 minutes, take your chicken mixture out of the oven.  Place your quartered biscuits on top to form a crust.  Stick it back in the oven for 10-15 minutes or until the top is golden brown.

Here’s what it looks like on the table:  chicken pot pieThis picture may have been taken after a few servings were eaten because we just couldn’t help ourselves.

E ate a plate full and kept telling me how good it was.  Additionally, he had a scratchy throat, but did not swell to six times his normal size.   And no epipens were injured in the making of this blog post.

The youngest, however, made repulsive facial expressions while I threatened, coerced, and bribed him to eat the vegetables.  All in all, a success.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

