Paleo poo

I realize there is undoubtedly a better title for a blog post, but that is the only thing that comes to mind after today’s first.

I was looking for a new recipe to try and I ran across this one.  It was tauted as “paleo-powered breakfast”….a baked egg in an avocado.  I like avocados and I can deal with eggs in limited doses…..sounded like it had potential.

I cut the avocado in halves and removed the seed.  I propped up the halves so they wouldn’t topple over in the pan and then I carefully cracked two\ eggs and placed in each of the hulled avocado centers.  I placed them in a 425 degree oven for 15-20 minutes.  Not quite sure exactly how long they were in there.  I just kept eyeballing them to make sure the egg was set.

The recipe called for chives to be cut and sprinkled, but I am not a fan of chives at all.  So I switched them for hot sauce.  Hot sauce seemed like a reasonable substitute for herbs.  I mean, hot sauce is good on virtually anything so why not?!

avocado egg

But it wasn’t good…..and I don’t think the hot sauce should burden the blame.  This was just all around disastrous.  I don’t think avocados have a strong enough flavor to partner well with eggs.  And the eggs ended up with a hardened top to them….a crust, if you will.  Ewww.  The texture was all wrong.

It may be a paleo-powered breakfast, but it’s not a very enticing advertisement for the paleo diet.  Paleo poo is more accurate.  Yuck.

One thought on “Paleo poo

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

