Cool Ride

So this week I was able to enjoy another new thing.  I bought a new car.  It’s not a “new” car as in a 2014 or 15 model, but it’s new to me.  I purchased a 2010 Nissan Altima.  I love it.

I have toyed with the idea of getting a new car for quite some time.  After all, my car had 150,000+ miles on it and was in desperate need of a paint job.  But it was paid for so I hated the idea of going in debt.  But a trip a few weeks ago solidified my decision to move forward with the purchase.

My friend and I had a weekend at the beach.  We won it in a contest and it was spectacular and very much needed.  Anyhow…..during that trip, the back passenger floorboard flooded a few times.  When I say “flooded”, this is not an exaggeration.  It was standing water.  Standing — as in around an inch deep — I would sop it up with a towel and then it would happen all over again.  That was it.  I knew a car purchase was going to be in the near future.

Previously my father worked at a car dealership so this was my first experience going through the whole process of purchasing a car without him and mainly on my own.  Rick was there, but left me to work through it by myself since it is the car I would primarily drive.  It was the last day of the month so I was pretty much able to set my own price.  The process wasn’t nearly as intimidating as I had worried.

I must say, however, that when the salesman, Carlos, quoted me a price, I excused myself to the restroom where I quickly looked up the value on the Kelley Blue Book website.  Additionally, I called my dad just to get some reassurance.  Yes.  I called my dad from the bathroom of the car dealership.  You did read that correctly.

In the end, Dad reassured me that it was a fair deal.  I signed the papers and drove home in my cool ride…..as cool as a mom can be in a four door sedan with a child’s carseat in the back.

car

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

