You Cooked It, but You Can’t Eat It – Day 210

This afternoon I made a trip to the local farmer’s market. I love picking up products there and supporting local, small business farmers.  I picked up an eggplant, tomato, and banana peppers.

I went home and scoured the internet to find some easy dishes with eggplant and I ran across ratatouille.  However, I had to modify without the cheese that was called for in the recipe because of E’s food allergies.  Other than that, it seemed like an easy and delicious option for dinner.

I cut up and sauteed the garlic and eggplant, then peppers and onions, mushrooms, and finally prepped the tomatoes.  I put it into the oven and walked away to clean up from the cooking.

Now, for some background info… I had taken my husband to the doctor because he was having some unusual symptoms and didn’t feel well.  The doc ran some blood tests to determine what was the cause.

Just as dinner was finished and plated, the doctor called to say Rick needed to go to the hospital because his creatinine levels were too high.  Therefore, even though I had a good looking plate of ratatouille, which I had never eaten before, made with delicious fresh locally grown veggies, I never got to taste it as we had to begin packing a bag to head to the hospital.  So, my new thing for day 210 was making ratatouille but not eating it.  Guess I’ll save that for another day.

As for my husband, he is much improved after a night and day in the hospital receiving fluids. It appears like it was a case of serious dehydration.  Expecting to go home tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

