Pushing My Limits – Day 173

As mentioned in a previous post, I have been working out the past several weeks. Some people end up loving it and look forward to their time at the gym everyday. I am not one of those people. I hate working out. I hate pushing myself. I hate being uncomfortable.  But I’m doing it because I have hope that it will get easier … or at least that eventually I will begin to feel or notice a change.  Plus, with all the health issues our family has dealt with, I feel a need to be proactive about my health.

I am far from a fitness aficionado.  Half the machines in the weight room I refer to as a doohickey or a watchmacallit or a pull thingee.  Really.  So please forgive me if I butcher any terms in this post.   Feel free to make comments pointing out my ignorance as long as you are laughing with me….not at me.

Anyhow, there is a machine in the corner of the weight room.  Well, machine is probably not the best word being that it doesn’t move.  However, it is an apparatus — yes, that’s the better word — people use to do dips, pull ups, and such.  It looks similar to this:  dip machine

I use it to do a crunch-type of thing  (again, don’t get caught up in semantics… I’m not).  I  face out, rest my back on the back of the apparatus, grab the handles and lift my knees up to my chest then bring them back down again.  I do three sets of 10 reps.

I’ve got some pretty good stomach muscles.  Always have.  My claim to fame was I was the 6th grade county sit up champion.  Oh, yeah.  That was me.  I’m sure you heard about it.  My memory is a bit foggy, but I think Walter Cronkite may have reported on it because it was such a big deal and all.  Anyhow, even after two babies…..abs of steel here.  It’s just that they’re hidden.  Under my stomach.  Working on that.

Sorry.  I digress…..in any event I was going to do those crunches today and I decided it was time to take it up a notch.  So for the first time I alternated.  I did one crunch by bringing up bent knees, but then I did a crunch by lifting my legs straight out and back down.  Now, this may sound like no big deal, but it is.  By the time I did three sets, I was ready to puke.  I’m not even joking.  But I did it.

2 thoughts on “Pushing My Limits – Day 173

Add yours

  1. Good for you and good post! It’s been years now since I started a deliberate effort to work out. It’s now part of my routine, at least during the week. And I do miss it if I’m not active during some part of the day. Although recently I’ve also realized the importance of a rest day. I don’t know if it ever gets easier because I’m always trying to “up my game” and as I have read, it’s good to confuse your body – makes it work harder = better results. FWIW, I have never attempted to use the apparatus you refer to but I’m impressed with your ab/core strength! How do you feel today? 🙂

    1. When I would move certain ways, I could definitely feel it, but it wasn’t as bad as I expected it to be. I was concerned I wouldn’t be able to get out of bed, but was pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

