You’ve Got Mail – Day 172

Okay, this is a Pinterest idea that was fabulous and easy to do. I’m glad that’s written because I don’t know how often I can say that. I found an idea on the site that I adored. It was quite simple. Create an email account for your child.

email

A parent will send stories, anecdotes, cute quotes, reflections, pictures, and videos to this email account.  It will be a virtual scrapbook of sorts upon completion.  When the child turns 18, you give him/her the password.  My oldest is already 13 so I’ve got quite a bit of catching up to do.   Today’s first:  create an email account for E to begin storing these items for him.

I am not a scrapbooking kind of person.  I was horrible at keeping a baby book.  I wish I was good at this, but I’m just not.  However, I love technology.  I can do this.

When I graduated, my mother gave me two scrapbooks.  These included any time my name was in the newspaper, awards I may have won in school, pictures, tickets, and all the sort of things you’d expect to find in a scrapbook.  And this was before scrapbooking was trendy.  In my first apartment living alone and a couple of hours away from my parents, I would look through it again and again and again.  I’m not sure if it was because I liked looking at my past or because I was just so amazed my mom had kept these things all these years without me even realizing it.

Maybe I won’t share the password with him when he turns 18.  Maybe I’ll wait until he goes to college….or gets married.  No matter what I decide, I look forward to the day when I share this password with E and see his expression as he revisits his past and sees my his childhood through my eyes.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

