A Trip to Germany – Day 156

europe restaurant (Image taken from Old Europe Restaurant website)

Okay, so the title is a little misleading. I didn’t really take a trip to Germany, but I did go to the next best place. I visited the Old Europe Restaurant in Winston.

I’ve driven by the restaurant over and over.  Many times I’ve mentioned how I need to give it a try, but I just never have.  Tonight, though, I had a jewelry show there.  My hostess is in a relationship with the owner and chef so we had the run of the place, so to speak.  Chef Karl created the most beautiful and amazing spread for us.  Meatballs, pastries, cheese, chocolate covered strawberries…..I could go on and on.  It was incredible.

The restaurant has the flags of European nations outside.  Inside it has cuckoo clocks, nutcrackers, and lots more items that give it that German feel.  The waitresses have uniforms that are very traditional Bavarian looking.  The television over the bar was on a German television station.  It was as authentic as you could get without actually going to Europe.  One of the really cool things was looking at the pictures in the hallway leading to the bathroom.  It was filled with pictures of the famous people Chef Karl has served and cooked for.

While cooking is the chef’s training, baking is his hobby.  The restaurant has a bakery in the front.  My hostess sent me home with an amazing assortment of items from the dessert display — tortes, danishes, strudel…..yummy.  There are a lot of benefits to being a jewelry lady, but it’s hard to beat coming home with a container of multiple freshly baked desserts.

If you would like to know more or visit The Old Europe Restaurant, click here for their website.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

