Making My Own Marinara – Day 155

marinara

Today, I completely stinking wowed myself. Yes, wowed is a word. It is the only word that fits in this instance.

You know those cute little signs that say little sayings like “In this family we do forgiveness; we do love; we do laughter”…..blah, blah, blah.   Well, in this family we do pasta.  Lots and lots of pasta.  Pasta with pork, pasta with beef, pasta with turkey, pasta as a main dish, pasta as a side item….you get the idea.  Typically, we do pasta with jarred marinara sauce.  The idea of making my own sauce has intrigued me but seemed intimidating.  Not any more.

I found a recipe to make my own marinara sauce that did not contain any items that would be problematic for our family’s food allergies.  It seemed fairly simple:  crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, onions, garlic, balsamic vinegar, brown sugar, water, and spices.  I put it in the crock pot to cook and simmer over night and I woke to the most heavenly aroma in this house.  In fact, it was tempting to have spaghetti for breakfast.  But I refrained.

I let the sauce cool and then I spooned the sauce in two Mason jars and placed in the fridge. Now, this is not going to keep as a truly home canned sauce because it isn’t sealed.  However, as often as we use marinara in this house, I don’t think I have to worry about it going bad.  Next time, I will definitely add more brown sugar — maybe even white sugar as it is more acidic than I prefer, but it was still delicious.  If you’d like to try it, click here for the link to the fabulous recipe.

One thought on “Making My Own Marinara – Day 155

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

