Throw It All In a Pan and Call It Cooking – Day 145

Today I invented a new recipe. That sounds so much more impressive than it really is. What it boils down to (pun intended) is I took what I could find in my kitchen and threw it together. However, thankfully, the end result worked.

I boiled pasta.  I was hoping we had spaghetti, but penne had to do.  In another pan, I sauteed mushrooms, green peppers, and local grape tomatoes cut in halves in some canola oil with minced garlic.  I sprinkled some pepper, salt, oregano, and red pepper flakes.  There was nothing exact.  A pinch of this, a dash of that….you get the idea.  After the pasta was cooked, I dumped it into the sauteed veggies and sprinkled some roughly chopped fresh basil.  I gave it all a stir and it was yummy.

I would love to show you a picture of it, but it didn’t last long enough.  I inhaled it.

Let me just say, I am not a cook.  I do enough to get by, but nothing to get excited about.  However, I was freaking impressed with myself tonight.  That was some good eating, if I do say so myself.

There were two key ingredients that made this dish outstanding:  the fresh basil and the red pepper flakes.  They took it to the next level and made everything taste really fresh and interesting.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

