Truly, a Girls Day Out – Day 123

Image

I love, love, love my sons.  They bring more joy to my life than I ever imagined.  In fact, I feel God perfectly matched up my two boys with Rick and I because life was never complete until they were both here and part of our family.  I cannot imagine life without them.  It would be boring and without the laughter and joy I have now.

With that said, sometimes the world of sports, roughhousing, and bodily function humor can sometimes be a bit much for this girly girl.  Truthfully, I sometimes do wonder about the lives of those who paint little fingernails, braid hair, and play with Barbies. Today, I got a taste of that.

I have the most wonderful niece ever!  Yes.  I just said that.  I’m sure your niece is sweet, but mine is sweeter, cuter, and smarter.  Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, I can continue.

My brother and sister-in-law had to work during the morning.  Little Miss A, my niece, had her first swimming lesson.  Imagine my excitement when they asked if I could spend the day with her and take her to swimming lessons.  Before the question mark was placed on that text, I’m sure I had responded with an emphatic YES!!!!

I was so excited for our day together I actually arrived at their house almost 20 minutes early and anybody who knows me knows that has to be a sign of pure excitement!  After Miss A’s mom left for work, we watched tv and then out came the nail polish bag.  She did not want me to paint her nails.  Oh no!  She wanted to paint my nails!  Of course, I let her.  Now might be a good time to mention sweet Miss A is only 3 and 3 year olds don’t really have the motor skills to paint nails…..but who cares?

Just in case you are hurting for a visual, use this image of Lorde’s nails from an awards show this year:  56th GRAMMY Awards - Show

That was pretty much my fingers except a much less goth princess pink.  I wore it happily to Little A’s swimming lessons.

Since her mom and dad couldn’t be there for her very first swimming lesson, I figured they would want to have a picture to remember it by.  So there she was in the water with about eight other little girls and one little boy in swimsuits.  And here I come to the edge of the pool with my phone taking pictures.  I took one and then realized how the other parents were looking at me a bit uncomfortably.  Even with my princess pink fingers and spectacular hair and jewelry, I appeared just a bit — shall we say — creepy and stalkerish.  Nice.  I got the picture, though.  And to my brother and sister-in-law if you happen to be reading this, be a little understanding to the other parents at the next swimming lesson when they won’t let their kids play with Miss A and they give you some strange looks and whispers.

Moving on….when I got her home, we had a snack and then she wanted her hair like Elsa from Frozen.  Of course, in my household of boys, I don’t watch a lot of Disney princess movies.  Cars, I can quote.  Frozen, not so much.  However, with the intense marketing and our recent trip to Disney World, I understand Elsa has two braids down her head…at least, I think that’s right.  Anyhow…..you can see my attempt at Elsa-like braids in Miss A’s hair above.  It appears my fantasies of playing with a little girl’s hair and creating the perfect braids do not take into account squirminess (is that even a word?) or the need to look up to see Bubble Guppies on television.  Regardless, she was happy and I was happy.

Today’s first:  having a girls day out with my sweet niece.  Successfully checked.

 

 

One thought on “Truly, a Girls Day Out – Day 123

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

