A Facebook-less Day – Day 116

I love Facebook.  I admit it.  I know, I know.  There are plenty of reasons not to love Facebook (or any other social networking site)…. scams abound online, people can hack your account, it sucks time, people stir up drama, blah, blah, blah.  The way I see it, like most things in life, you get out of it what you choose.  If you surround yourself with negativity and bickering and drama online, you probably do in the real world, also, and your life will reflect that.  If you surround yourself with positive and encouraging people online, you probably do in the real world, and your life will reflect that, as well.  Or I can be rationalizing how much time I waste spend online and how much I love facebook.

Hello, Honesty.  It’s nice to meet you.

Today’s first:  no Facebook.  Yes, I know it’s not as if I’ve never spent a day without Facebook, but since I joined the site in 2008, there have been very few days I haven’t logged on to update my status, share a picture, or just check to see what’s going on in the lives of my friends and acquaintances.  Our pastor often says everyone is addicted to something.  Facebook is my vice.  Many people are addicted to Facebook, but deny it wholeheartedly.  I admit it.

Oh, yes, Honesty.  I see you’ve made yourself welcome in today’s blog.  Are you planning on staying awhile?

Okay….okay….in honor of my friend, Honesty, let me just say I didn’t complete cut off facebook today.  I did log in just one time.  I had to go pick up a cake at a friend’s home (by the way, it was gorgeous and ah-maz-ing, Christine).  She messaged me her address through facebook and I had to access it to program it into my GPS.  But that was it, I promise.  No check ins, no status updates, no checking notifications.  Nothing.  Nada.  Nill.

And contrary to my biggest fear, I did not suffer a panic attack from the lack of seeing pictures of my friends’ fabulous dinners,reading the number of miles they ran, receiving updates on potty training, or enjoying their witty one-liners.  However, (yes, Honesty, I’m getting to it.  I promise.)  I canNOT wait until tomorrow so I can push the button to unleash all the notifications I have been missing.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

