Riding A Sea Dragon – Day 112

Today I rode a sea dragon.  I didn’t drive or steer the sea dragon, because really…who steers a sea dragon?  I got on the back of that dragon and because I couldn’t bear to face forward, I turned and looked at its tail the entire time I rode it.  

That dragon took me on a journey of twists and turns throughout the Inner Harbor area in Baltimore.  We rode near the aquarium, over to the docks, next to a submarine….everywhere within the confines of the three yellow buoys.  A type of guard sat in a little boat with a little engine the puttered ever so quietly at the edge of the buoys to warn those who dared to pass the edge.  

Yes, this may sound precarious at best, downright dangerous at worst.  But not to worry.  I had on my coast guard approved life vest the entire time.  There was even a sticker on the dragon that informed me not to stand up, remove my life jacket, and even to be careful about distributing my weight evenly.  I found that to be a bit presumptuous and rude….talking about my weight and all, but I try not to take things like that personally.

I realize dragons have a persona that seem scary or frightening, but apparently without any justification.  The dragon was purple with a gold edge tail that glistened as the sun reflected off the water.  They were not quite as large as you would imagine from storybook tales….four to six people could probably ride comfortably on the back….well, as comfortably as one rides on the back of a dragon.  

It may be surprising to discover these dragons live in communities.  Not quite sure if one calls them a pack or a gander or a flock….what does one call a grouping of sea dragons?  In any event, they don’t fly.  They swim.  Perhaps that’s why the whole breathing fire thing doesn’t happen, either.  Or perhaps these are the misfit dragons….distant relatives of Rudolph and that elf kid from the cartoon that wants to be a dentist.  Who knows.  

All I know is I had to pay for the half hour to ride it and my husband and son’s legs were pretty darn sore after we got back on dry land.  These dragons must have felt exploited being marketed, advertised, and sold for cheap rides.  Well, maybe not cheap, but rides nonetheless.  In fact, there they were in the same area as the common everyday paddle boats.  Oh…wait….maybe that explains things better.  Image

Today’s first:  riding a sea dragon paddle boat while my husband and son did all the work.  

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

