Vegetarians Beware – Day 104

Image I do not eat beef.  Ever.  Haven’t touched it (except for a few occasions by accident) in more than four years.  I am allergic to red meat, but it doesn’t bother me at all.  I wasn’t a huge meat-lover before so I very rarely miss it.  I do eat other kinds of meat …. mainly poultry.

(Get that perplexed look off your face.  I know you have it.  It’s the same look I see everytime I tell someone I am allergic to beef.  There are stranger things in the world.)

Today’s new thing was a bit of a mental challenge.  If you are vegetarian or vegan because of your love of animals, you may want to stop reading now.  Today I ate goat.

Trust me.  I didn’t wake up this morning knowing this would be today’s first.  A student raises goats and his family eats them.  He brought me what I basically believe to be a spicy stewed goat with rice.  Then he laid down the gauntlet with the words, “You should try it.  You know you’re trying new things.  This should be today’s new thing for you.”  Crap.  I can’t get out of this.  I don’t turn down a challenge….especially from a student.  “Okay.  It looks like I’m going to try some goat meat,” I told him.

He heated it up in the microwave.  I dug around the teacher workroom for a spoon.  The microwave buzzed indicating the food had heated up.  My student handed me the container and looked at me waiting to see if I would enjoy the dish as much as he did.  A few other staff members were in there, as well, waiting to see my reaction.  Certainly they thought me brave at best, idiotic at worst being that goat is not a typical menu item in our area.

The sauce for the stew was a creamy light green color.  It reminded me of the color of avocado ranch dressing.  The meat was sliced into strips.  I scooped up a medium size piece of the meat with rice and the sauce and buried it into my mouth so I would not have the chance to talk myself out of this culinary adventure.  The meat was tender and a bit on the fatty side which preserved flavor and gave a nice texture.  The sauce was spicy.  Perhaps there were green chilis in the sauce which may explain the color, as well.  Not bad.  Not bad at all.

For the half hour or so after I ate it, my stomach got a bit queasy because I was worried if I would have an allergic reaction to the meat.  I have no idea if there is any connections at all between cow and goat meat, but that sensation passed quickly as I realized I was fine.

Another successful first in the books.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

