Not the Most Glamorous – Day 92

“They always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself.” – Andy Warhol

I find myself often conflicted over water.  I realize water may not seem like a controversial issue, but I struggle between my love of bottled water and my knowledge of how environmentally harmful it is.  Drinking water out of the tap is not something I want to do.  One, it’s never cold enough as I like ice cold water.  Two, I am of the opinion that our local water has a funny taste.  Therefore, I typically buy bottled water and keep it in the fridge.  I justify the bottled water by recycling the plastic containers.  Today, though I made a change.

I realize refraining from bottled water for a day may not seem like the most glamorous first.  However, it is a small environmentally friendly change I can make.  On average, I drink around 2 bottles of water per day.  Doing the math, that adds up to a considerable number of bottles.  Today, I took a sabbatical from the plastic.  I continued to drink water, but I used a washable and reusable cup.

Image  I filled the cup with tap water at home last night and left it in the fridge overnight to make sure it was as cold as I like.

Honestly, I’m sure it was my mind playing tricks on me, but I thought the water had a strange taste to it.  I couldn’t get over the fact it was tap water.  Our school has a water cooler and I eventually got water out of it.  However, it still tasted different.

I’m going to have to invest in some produce and herbs to flavor the water so I can continue using my reusable cup.  If you have any ideas for mildly flavoring water to make it more appetizing, please share!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

