What a Difference a Week Makes – Day 89

So a week ago my first was fully observing the Sabbath.  I loved that first.  I want it to become a second, and a third, and a fourth….you get the idea.  But what a difference a week makes.  Rest wasn’t quite in the cards today, unfortunately.  

This brings me to my first.  It was a first borne of necessity rather than desire, but it still counts as a first.  I went grocery shopping for the week at 9:30 tonight.  Image

All day I worked on laundry and cleaning.  At least that’s what I was doing in the little bit of time I wasn’t preoccupied with the toddler.  And then I blinked and it was 8 pm.  There was no way I could leave then.  Even if I didn’t have to put D down to bed at that point, I still wouldn’t have left because my all time favorite show comes on, Once Upon a Time.  I don’t get into too many shows, but I will not miss my weekly dose of OUAT.  The world could experience a nuclear disaster, and I would wait until 9 pm before finding the nearest fallout shelter.  

So finally at 9 pm I could detach myself from the television.  I had a few odds and ends to take care of, but I finally got to the supermarket around 9:25 or 9:30.  Thankfully, as tired as I am and as focused as I was on my list, I was determined to make this the shortest shopping trip ever.  I think I may have succeeded.

I stuck to only the items on my list choosing not to take a leisurely stroll down aisles that did not contain my listed items.  That saved me quite a bit of time.  Plus, it kept my total to a minimum.  I was able to spend a fraction of what I normally do at the store and I was in and out in about 20 minutes.  That never happens!

One of the biggest time savers was the fact the grocery store was so empty.  There were only two lanes open for check out, but that was all that was needed.  I didn’t run into anyone I saw (which was shocking considering my no make up, hair needed brushing look) so there was no time taken for hellos and conversation.  Just in and out in record time.  Nice.

As I could see, there was only one negative to shopping late like this:  a spooky, nearly vacant parking lot when loading the groceries into your car.  However, being that the scenario could give the bravest man on earth the spooks, that only meant I was loading my car faster than before.  Therefore, if you happened to pass by and see me loading my car with groceries this evening, rest assured it was not Dash from the Incredibles loading my car, just me a little freaked out by the way my mind plays tricks on me in an empty parking lot.  

Now, I’m finally in bed for the evening.  I’m more than a little tired from the day.  What a difference a week makes.  Next week I will be reclaiming my Sabbath.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

