She Works Hard for the Money – Day 84

I realize I’m showing my age here, but I remember that Donna Summer song “She Works Hard for the Money” and how she always performed it in a waitress outfit.  Therefore I always associate that song with waitresses….even if that really wasn’t the meaning of the song.  In any event, I know waitresses work very hard.  I’ve always known that, but I learned it first hand when I worked as a waitress during my summer break a few years ago.  

I was thrilled to come home with cash in my pocket, but I was so exhausted.  Obviously, it’s a physically demanding job, but I had little grasp of that until I experienced it first hand.  Since that experience I have made sure to be generous and kind with tipping wait staff.  I’ve never really been a tightwad when it came to tipping, but since I did it myself I try to overcompensate for all the crappy people that stiffed me.

Image

Tonight’s first was a very generous tip.  Now listen, let’s put this in perspective.  The waitress we had at dinner is not going to think she won the lottery.  I don’t mean to make myself out to be this amazing philanthropist like the female version of Warren Buffet.  However, if she was expecting 15-18% of the total bill, suffice to say she will be happy and hope that I visit again soon.  

I remember the times I had costumers who left me more than a fair share for the tip.  It made my night.  Truthfully, few people waitress just because they have nothing better to do.  People waitress for the money.  I hope if my waitress was having a rough week my tip made it a little bit more bearable.  In our brief conversation while she was serving us, she shared with me that she had two kids at home.  I hope a good tip made the sting of being away from them for those hours less painful.

And more than anything I hope if you are reading this, you are inspired to treat those in service jobs a little bit nicer, with more patience, and with uncharacteristic generosity.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

