Good for the Eyes, Good for the Taste Buds – Day 84

Image

I love those glazed carrots you get in many Japanese restaurants. I could make a meal out of those, rice, and shrimp sauce alone.  Unfortunately, E has never been able to eat them because they are cooked in butter, and he is allergic to milk (and eggs and shellfish).  I decided tonight I would try to recreate them at home.  

I perused several different recipes and decided to take a little from one and a little from another since all the recipes sounded good.  I ended up with something like this:  prepare a bag of frozen carrots as directed on the package.  Then I took roughly three tbsps. of margarine (no butter due to allergies as mentioned above) and melted it.  I then poured it over the carrots and added 1/4 cup of sugar.  I added a few pinches of cinnamon and nutmeg to it.  E taste-tested it and asked me to add a little more sweetness (of course a 12 year old would say that), but I didn’t want to add more sugar so I removed it from the heat and added a drizzle of honey.  

As one national brand cereal says, “Kid tested; mother approved.”  It was yummy, and I felt great about finding a new way to get my kids to eat veggies.  Well, make that kid.  I have yet to convince the toddler to touch anything orange.  Baby steps, my friends.  Baby steps.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

