The Wheels on the Bus Go Round and Round — Day 70

Image

I’m writing earlier in the day than usual due to my limited amount of time today.  Normally I write at night just before bed so I can reflect on the day, but tonight that will be next to impossible.  Why?  Because I will be on a bus to Disney World with probably close to 175 adolescents.

Crazy?  You bet, but it’s one of two new things for the day.  And it’s the second bus ride of the day.

Earlier today I went with my classes on a field trip to a local manufacturing company.  I drive past Unifi (their website is here: http://unifi.com/un_product.aspx)   everyday on my way to and from work, but I had never been inside the building before.  We toured the plant that uses recycled plastic bottles to make yarn and textile materials.  This material is used in such big name brands as Dockers, Ford, Nike and PolarTec.  

They showed us how the bottles are turned into plastic flakes and then heated and processed to become pellets.  These pellets are then stretched and processed more and more until it becomes yarn.  This company is the largest employer for our county and has been here for 40 years.  In 2007 it opened this new operation called Repreve which is the division which turns the recycled bottles into textiles.  

I was particularly impressed that the entire facility recycles EVERYTHING!  There is absolutely zero waste that goes into the landfill whether it be food, bottles, shipping containers, paper, ink, old machinery…..everything is recycled. I wish more companies had a similar commitment to being green.

Now for this evening.  For the first time I will be on a bus all night with middle schoolers on the way to Disney World.  We drive at night so we can sleep on the bus and hit the ground running in the morning.  We will not see the hotel until after our full day at Epcot.  I’m tired just thinking about it.  

I am so blessed to be able to be a teacher as I can chaperone trips like these.  E is going on the field trip as a student.  My husband and I are both chaperoning.  Therefore, the next few days my blogging may be sporadic, but rest assured I will enjoy many firsts and share them here once I have the opportunity.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

