Day 58-Music that Feels as Comfy as a Warm Blanket

I grew up less than 10 minutes from the site of one of America’s premier music festivals: MerleFest. It celebrates Americana, folk, and bluegrass music. We’ve had acts that range from Hootie and the Blowfish to Emmylou Harris and everything between perform.

One year we had Steve Martin perform which seemed outrageous to me because I was unaware of his musical talents until that point. I always thought of King Tut or Dirty Rotten Scoundrels or 10 million other acts or movies he was known for….never banjo playing, Grammy winning musician. But that is a description that fits him, as well.

A while back, I happen to catch him on The Stephen Colbert Show. He was the musical guest with his band The Steep Canyon Rangers. They were amazing….and I’m not even a fan of bluegrass.

Tonight while perusing my facebook feed, a friend had posted this video of Edie Brickell and Steve Martin on Conan. As if I had not just gotten used to the idea of Steve Martin being more than an actor and comedian, but an honest to goodness legitimate musician, now you want to blow my mind with a teaming of the horn-rimmed, cats eye glass wearing “What I Am” singer Edie Brickell. Too much!

I loved the song “What I Am” with Brickell and the New Bohemians. It is so catchy and gets stuck in your head. So when I heard she was collaborating with Martin, I was intrigued. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. However, this was a very nice first. Their sound is so smooth. Her voice has much more range than I remembered. As I watched the video of the two of them on the front of the stage, I was surprised to see how well their presence balanced. I completely expected Martin to become his “wild and crazy guy” and take over the performance, but that wasn’t the case at all.

This song was so comfortable and relaxed like a cozy blanket on a cool crisp night. I am definitely considering purchasing and downloading their entire album to add to my playlist.

One thought on “Day 58-Music that Feels as Comfy as a Warm Blanket

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

