Fighting a Cold by Eating my Veggies…..or Something Like That – Day 33

For the second day in a row, I am fighting a cold.  I will not go down without a fight.  I have chomped on vitamins, given up soda, used my inhaler faithfully…..anything I can do to grab the virus by the throat and slay it.  I have also altered my eating habits to try to help my body kick it.  Today, I tried to stay away from anything overly processed, limit sugar and sweeteners, and up my intake of water, fruits, and veggies.  Therefore, I have tried TWO new things today.  That’s right….I will not let some crappy cold keep me down.  Take that, virus!

New thing #1 — while eating lunch after church with my family today, we went to a restaurant that has a buffet.  As mentioned above, I was very mindful about what I was putting in my body today.  I loaded up on salad with olive oil and vinegar for the most part, but I did enjoy some cooked broccoli (it’s a super food, you know!).  Right next to the broccoli was a food I’d seen a million times, but never tried.  Brussel sprouts.  Yes, you heard that right.  A Southern belle like me that is a total foodie has never eaten a brussel sprout.    This was as good a time as any to give it a try.  I put that small little cabbage smothered in what looked to be melted butter on my plate.  Image  It looked innocent enough.  What followed was an experience that left my family in stitches.  My facial expression told them my opinions on this vegetable.  Image  I thank God I only put one of those vile things on my plate.  It was mushy and bitter.  Total disgust.  That is all I have to say about that.

Thankfully, my second new thing was a totally different experience.  I researched natural home remedies to kick the butts of colds.  I am telling you……I will not succumb to illness easily.  It will only take me kicking and screaming.  I found a remedy to sooth the symptoms and help fight the germs naturally.  A tbsp of honey with 1/4 tsp of cinnamon.  Mix well.  It is very sweet, obviously.  I put it on crackers (the only processed food I knowingly ingested today) to break up that thick consistency and balance the sweetness, but it was really yummy.  And it did help sooth my sore throat tremendously.  

My experiences were 50/50 today.  I’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

