No eggs, no milk, no sugar – Day 27

The finished product.
The finished product.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, we deal with a plethora of food allergies in our family.  E is allergic to all dairy, eggs, and shellfish.  I deal with a beef allergy.  My husband cannot have cheese.  D cannot have dairy, either.  Therefore, I’ve taken up vegan baking so we can enjoy yummy treats without danger.  I have a wonderful cookbook that has recipes for a variety of vegan cupcakes from the basic chocolate recipe to the exotic pistachio and rosewater cupcake.  There are enough recipes and possible variations with each that honestly I could create a cupcake a day and have my year of new things covered.  However, I don’t want this blog to turn into the baking version of Julie and Julia.

I’ve had my eye on a recipe for vanilla agave cupcakes.  I’ve never used agave syrup for anything, but I’ve read a lot about it.  I like the idea that it is plant based and natural and can substitute for sugar.  I found it at the grocery store….the regular grocery store, not a hippie health food store only found in metropolitan areas.  Mind you, it is not cheap, but the writer of the cookbook swears it’s worth every dime.

Usually I include recipes in this blog, but I’m a teacher that preaches abiding by copyright laws to my students so I will refrain from including the recipe this time.  However, I will tell you the cookbook is titled Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World by  Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero.  Look it up on Amazon and invest in a copy.  It is simply amazing….even if you are not vegan.

Anyhow…..even though it was recommended, the agave I used was not light.  It was the only type I could find in my store, but no worries.  It worked well.  My son was totally intrigued to use an ingredient from a cactus, but we tasted it and it has a flavor, look, and consistency similar to maple syrup.  Not bad….not bad at all.  Baked up, this recipe was amazing.  Not too sweet, slightly buttery, and an almost nutty, earthy flavor.  We used vanilla icing and sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on top.  The cinnamon was a nice accent to the flavor of the cupcakes.  I cannot explain the perfect golden brown color this batter made.  The cake was very moist, tender, and slightly dense without being heavy.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

