Day 16 – A return to childhood

I remember spending some Saturday mornings at my paternal grandparents’ home.  We would bake cookies, play board games, and read books.  One of my favorite things is when my grandmother would make homemade playdoh.  I never knew how she did it.  It looked like magic in a pot to me.  She would let me add in drops of food coloring to it to make it a rainbow blob.  

My oldest son loved playdoh as does my niece.  In fact, I can’t think of a single kid who didn’t love molding, shaping, and pretending with the goo.  My youngest son has yet to discover it.  He has been feeling somewhat under the weather the past week, so I thought playdoh may be the perfect thing to help overcome his fussiness.  I searched for the recipe of the homemade recipe online and the only difficulty was choosing one considering their are versions with kool aid, gluten free versions, no cook formulas, and the version I assume my grandmother used based on the ingredients:

1 c. flour

1 c. warm water

1/2 c salt

1 tsp oil

2 tsp cream of tartar

food coloring of your choice

Mix ingredients and cook over medium heat stirring constantly with a wooden spoon.  Continue stirring until mixture thickens and pulls away from the side of pot forming into a ball.  Then remove from pot, knead on smooth surface until smooth and soft.  

 

It made a large sized ball of dough, but I loved it because I knew the ingredients.  I knew if my son picked it up and put it into his mouth, it wouldn’t be a big deal.  In fact….another new thing.  I tasted it.  I know….strange.  I knew if given the chance my toddler would eat it so the curiosity took over.  Let’s just say if he did taste it, he more than likely never would again.  And if I ever say something tastes as bad as playdoh, it’s not just a simile.  I am being quite literal.

Anyhow, after he ate his dinner I took a little of the orange playdoh and placed it in front of him.  I kept a little in my hand to demonstrate it was for playing not for eating.  Suffice to say he was not impressed.  He was not interested at all in the dough.  He threw it and continued on with his previously scheduled temper tantrum already in progress.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

