Winner Winner, Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole Dinner (a.k.a. Day 8)

Winner Winner, Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole Dinner (a.k.a. Day 8)

Finding recipes for our home is challenging. Between the four of us the recipes must be beef free, dairy free, egg free, and shellfish free — and that’s just due to allergies. Forget about aversions and preferences. So when I saw this recipe online, I knew it had to be something I tried — with a few modifications.

Now please understand, this recipe is not exactly found under the “healthy eating” section of Kraft Recipes. Nope, if you’re looking for healthy living, look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for kid-friendly, quick, and yummy….then you may want to add this Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole to your list of new recipes to try.

I preheated my over to 425 degrees. I browned 1-1.5 lbs turkey meat (again, no beef for me) with a couple handfuls of chopped onions. Call me high maintenance if you like, but I splurge and buy my onions prechopped in the produce section. These eyes have enough to deal with trying to read bad penmenship and funky color ink pens (which 8th grade students love to write with) than to be put through tearing up over dinner preparation. After the meat is browned, drain it. Then add 1/2 cup ketchup and a 1/4 cup mustard. I added some A1 and worcestershire sauce, too, to give it a beefier flavor. No exact measurements there. I just went with my gut. I microwaved a small package of precooked bacon. It was about 15 strips. I’m sure it’s better if you buy your bacon and make it yourself, but I’m tired and the mom of a toddler and adolescent so don’t judge me. I poured the meat and onion mixture into a casserole dish then cut up the bacon into pieces and sprinkled evenly on top of the turkey meat. At this point, you can add cheddar cheese over the bacon, but I wasn’t really in the mood for my child to have anaphylactic shock so we left it out. Then place a layer of frozen tator tots on top and pop it in the over for about a half hour or until the tators tots are golden brown.

When I dished it out, we opted to drizzle ketchup over it. It was yummy. I nearly had to threaten my oldest with bodily harm to keep him from eating the rest of it out of the casserole dish at the stove because he could barely take the wait of placing it on a plate and making it back to the dining table. The picture shows the dish after we scooped out first servings so you can see the layers.

Again, it isn’t for the health conscious, but it was something new and it was delicious so ….. score! Winner!

One thought on “Winner Winner, Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole Dinner (a.k.a. Day 8)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

