Day 5 – the long overdue first

Today’s first is overdue.  I told someone in my family I love her for the first time.  She is related to me by marriage so I didn’t grow up with her, but she is just as much family as anyone related by blood.  

I am not what you would call a “touchy-feely” person.  Displays of emotions make me uncomfortable.  If you’ve ever received a greeting card from me, you’ll know even those have to be funny rather than mushy.  This is not to say I’m cold or detached.  I’m not….at least I don’t think I am.  I just feel socially awkward about displays of affection or such sentiments.  

But today, we received the news that my husband’s nephew died unexpectedly.  He was young — only 32.  He had defied death during two military tours in the Middle East.  He was a father of three children and he was loved by his family.  His mother, sisters, father, children, nieces, nephews, uncles, aunts, grandmother, and friends feel such a sense of loss tonight that I can’t even articulate it.  

Just one simple statement — three words:  we love you. It shouldn’t take a death to share our love and appreciation with others, but often it does.  I am guilty.  

Ironically, I read a blog yesterday that stated many people make bucket lists because they are going to die, but she is checking off her bucket list because she wants to live fully.  How true it is.  We should live life fully because (as cliched as it may sound) we don’t know when that life will end.  No matter your religious beliefs, political ideology, ethnic background, socioeconomic status … death is the level playing field.  I don’t want to wish I had done something, said something, seen something.  Most importantly, I don’t want to leave anyone wondering if they were important to me when they were….if I loved them, if I appreciate them, if I cared for them.  

So today….I challenge you.  Make today the day of a very important first for you.  Find someone you love, you admire, you respect and tell them.  Let them know how much you care.  With over a billion people on the Earth, nobody should ever feel not cared for and alone.   Rack your brain.  Think of that person that has made a difference in your life and write them a note.  Don’t wait for tomorrow.  Make today the day you tell them.

One thought on “Day 5 – the long overdue first

Add yours

  1. I enjoyed reading this. Life is too short and we need to remember to love one another while we have them. I was just thinking this morning that years ago, I couldn’t fathom the year 2014. Just last year, we thought we would spend at least one more Christmas with our mom. Unfortunately, we didn’t. We don’t know what will happen this day. As the old song goes, “Come on people now. Smile on your brother. Everybody get together. Try to love one another. Right now.”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

